The land without shadows was the name that the Native Americans of the region, the Lenape, attributed to this area.


Giovanni da Verrazzano was the first European explorer to discover the island of Narrioch during his expeditions to the area in 1527 and 1529.

It was the Dutch who gave the name Konijneneiland, for the numerous rabbits that populated the island.

Between 1880 and World War II, Coney Island was the largest amusement area in the United States, attracting several million visitors a year. At its peak, it contained three large amusement parks, Luna Park, Dreamland and Steeplechase Park, as well as many independent entertainment. 


The area was also the center of new technological events, with electric lights, roller coasters and children's incubators among the innovations of Coney Island in 1900. This continued until the end of the Second World War.


The architectural importance that Coney Island has had for the New York territory is very high, it was in fact a platform for urban experimentation of what were then the growth plans of Manhattan.


It is no coincidence that a chapter of the Delirious New York architecture essay is dedicated to the history of Coney Island.

From the film Speedy, 1928 with Harold Loyd.